Summer 2017 Book Wrap Up

Hello. It’s been a long time, hasn’t it? 

I’m not sure what time period is the right amount of time for a wrap up. Monthly sounds like it should be right, and yet the whole summer went by and I did not reflect on my reading. And a whole summer’s worth of reading is quite a long list to recap.

 

caraval

JUNE 

Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them by JK Rowling / Newt Scamander
The audio book is narrated by Eddie Redmayne, who plays Newt in the new movies. It’s fantastic.

Geekerella by Ashley Poston
Super cute Cinterella retelling that appeals to fan girls everywhere, especially those who are fans of sci-fi movies and shows like Star Wars and Star Trek.

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia
I loved Eliza and Her Monsters. It appeals to the former fan fiction writer in me. Perfect for fan girls everywhere, and anyone else who has ever been a fan of something amazing. It also deals a lot with anxiety in a very realistic way.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber
The first in what I believe to be a duology, Caraval is quite the trip to a traveling carnival-esque game where nothing is what is seems. Perfect for fans of The Night Circus.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
I read this for book club, and because I wanted to see the Hulu show (which I haven’t completed yet). It kind of drags in the beginning but I feel like it all comes together toward the end. Fascinating and haunting. It was written in the mid-80’s but it’s so relevant today.

Burntown by Jennifer McMahon
A bit of a haunting mystery involving Necco, the main character’s past as well as mysterious murders that are haunting Ashford, VT.

 

 

Throne_of_Glass_series.jpg

JULY

The Circle by Dave Eggers
Another book club read. I felt like The Circle was a bit too long, and very anticlimactic. I enjoyed reading it because you can see the makings of a dystopian society. It’s like reading the lead up to how The Hunger Games started. And Emma Watson plays the lead in the movie.

Assassin’s Blade
Throne of Glass
Crown of Midnight
Heir of Fire
Queen of Shadows

All of these titles by Sarah J. Maas are part of the unfinished Throne of Glass series. If you like assassin’s, magic, fae and new worlds, you’ll love this action-packed series.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen
Sarah Dessen’s novels are the perfect summer read. Once and For All follows Louna as she navigates the wedding planning world with her mother. Louna is trying to figure out her own personal grief while just making it through her summer. Is there someone out there who might have the power to help her see life differently?

dimple.jpg

AUGUST

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
See my little blurb in July about the Throne of Glass books.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
Dimple wants to be your average American girl. She does not want to be part of an arranged marriage, she just wants to go to a summer program and compete to create an app and maybe met her idol. Rishi can’t wait to start a family and follow a more traditional Indian-American life. Super cute contemporary read.

What To Say Next by Julie Buxom
This is a super cute contemporary novel about the friendship and romance between popular Kit and David who is her social opposite. David has Autism Spectrum Disorder which makes it difficult for him to maintain relationships. But he is different and thoughtful in a way that Kit isn’t used to from her peers.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
I’ve read this novel so many times. It’s easily in my top 5 lists of favorite books. If you haven’t read it before, you just need to.

 

ramona blue

SEPTEMBER

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy
I love this novel so much. It’s about sexual identity, friendships and heartbreaks. Oh, and a girl with blue hair.

The Names They Gave Us by Emory Lord
Emory takes us into the world of summer camp where Lucy struggles with her faith, navigates a summer job at a new-to-her camp and deals with the grief of having a sick family member.

Nightbird by Alice Hoffman
This is my first Alice Hoffman novel and it certainly won’t be my last. There’s a mysterious monster in the magical town of Sidwell. Twig has to come to the bottom of the strange occurrences before her brother is blamed.

The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin
When Suzy’s friend dies there has to be a logical reason, right? If everything happens for a reason, then the death of Nancy has to have one, too. Convinced her fried was stung by a jellyfish, Suzy works to figure out how to prove what she believes.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman
If you’ve seen the movie then you’ve basically read the book. I think the humor translates better on the big screen, and I don’t recommend this novel.

 

You can read what I read in April and May on my other blog.

Advertisements

Hello, October

It’s been a while. I haven’t picked up a book in a week. Last Saturday my relationship ended, and I can’t find space in my brain for fiction right now. I’m in the middle of Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi, and House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski.

 

I’m trying to remember what words taste like. I’m slowly inching back to the world of the familiar. I’ll get there.

 

Thanks for sticking by.

And if you’re new from the OwlCrate Society, thanks for stopping by! & Welcome.

 

xx

Melanie

Five (More) Things about Melanie Kristy

To read the original post, click here.


I discovered Francesca Lia Block novels at my local library when I was in high school and she’s been my favorite author ever since.

The beach is my favorite place to be. I burn easily, and bugs love to nibble at my skin, so you can often find me sitting in my car in the parking lot with the windows down, looking out at the ocean and reading or listening to an audio book. I usually have iced coffee or tea with me, as well, and if I’m not listening to an audio book, music is definitely playing.


I was a fangirl before fangirl was actually a word. In my day we were called “teeny boppers”, and I used to argue with people who didn’t care about why we weren’t obsessed, all while trying to prove the worth and value in my all time favorite band.

I’m a lefty, and I wholeheartedly believe that if I was a righty, I wouldn’t bother to even mention it. In my experience, lefties always notice other lefties and righties just don’t care.


While I’ve only been to a few, I’m a total nerd for conferences. I’ve been to AWP (Associated Writers and Writing Programs) Boston 2013, Seattle 2014 and MLA Hyannis 2016 and I want to go to more!

Xo

Melanie

May 2016 Wrap Up

I read a lot of books this month in paper, kindle and audiobook format. In January this year I started keeping track of the books I read, as I finish them. Starting in June I’ll be adding a small blurb with each one so I can keep better track of what I’ve read and my thoughts. This is my first wrap up post.
When We Collided – Emery Lord 

5 stars

Love May Fail – Matthew Quick 

3.75 stars

The Serpent King – Jeff Zentner 

3.75 stars

Girls In Pants (Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 3) – Ann Brashares

4 starts

Me Before You – Jojo Moyes 

3.5 stars

Forever In Blue: The Forth Summer of the Sisterhood (Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 4) – Ann Brashares

4 stars

After You – Jojo Moyes 

3.5 stars

Wildflower – Drew Barrymore 

5 stars

Keto Clarity – Jimmy Moore & Erin Westman MD

4 stars

 

Have you read any of these books? Would you agree with my ratings?

x,

Melanie

Find me on Goodreads!

I’m gearing up to bring this page back to life. Are you excited? I sure am! I’m trying to figure out if I should keep it to text and photos (through Instagram), or if adding in a video channel is a good idea. What do you think?

I joined the Goodreads Challenge for 2016 (75 books, though their counter isn’t accurate because if I’ve already read a book it doesn’t count, and if I rate a book that I read previously and not this year, it counts it) and since then I’ve been updating my profile more often. I usually use my Amazon wish list as my “hey I want to read these books sometime this millennium” list, but I’m thinking of switching all those over to Goodreads, too. I’d like to streamline, just a bit.

So in the mean time, I’d love for you to tell me what you love about book blogging, what you want to read about, what you prefer to see as video, etc. And add me as a friend on Goodreads!

 

Love,

Melanie

2016 Bookish Goals!

  
The holidays are finally simmering down, the sales of diet books are soaring and I’ve decided to settle into creating two very doable reading goals. I’ve never had reading goals before, because I’ve never wanted to turn reading into a chore, but I don’t think these  goals are too daunting or annoying.

1. Keep track of what I read. I tried this last year and fell behind. One of my goals for the year is to document more, so I’m going to keep track of everything I read.

2. Read 75 books. This includes audiobooks, graphic novels and reread a as well as brand new books and those on my TBR shelves. I joined the Goodreads Challenge. You can find me on Goodreads here
What are your bookish goals for 2016?

X.

Melanie 

NaNoWriMo : Writing Spaces

  
I often have to leave my house to create the right atmosphere for optimal writing. Usually there’s coffee involved, and some sort of extra noise.
You can create the coffee shop sounds in your own home by running the Coffitivity website in the background

In order to write, you need to be in a space that will inspire you, or at least not bring you down. For me that space is decluttered and bright with music or background noise. There’s an amazing candle lit near me, or I have Badger Balm’s Focus on my temples. 

  
This is my current desk: not optimal at all. Not even functional. This week I’ll work to declutter the desk and incorporate some Feng Shui so I have space to write, and next week I’ll show it off to you!
How to create a space that’s right for you:

Check out some inspiration on Tumblr.

Follow Write To Done‘s suggestions 

Incorporate some Feng Shui into our space for optimal energy 

Show me your writing space!